Page 15 of 25
AMO personal Diaries

 

Julie Bloom, Artist


Julie's background info


Born in Nairobi and raised between Germany Hong Kong and the UK, having spent much of her time travelling the world, Julie’s inspirations are a fusion of influences clearly derived from her experiences and explorations.
 
Julie Bloom’s creative practice is inspired by her deeply rooted connections with architecture, buildings and city life intertwined with nature and their contrasts and similarities.

We follow the artist into her Cityscapes, in her ‘Metropolis’ series for example, we enter the dynamic and fervent space weaved and created by the artist’s white acrylic pen.  
 
“I embrace dualities, I enjoy executing extreme patience and accuracy in order to form intricate patterns and shapes as seen in City Scapes. I also love to paint with total abandon, without sense of construct or design, bar to see what emotion the hand to paint, medium to material does to find me.”

Julie Bloom
 
How can the space be navigated? How do our senses react? Like nature, like the city, one has to adapt.
 
In her video work ‘Finding Space’, she explores notions of identity, boundaries and displacement, speed, scale and noise as she moves with her strengths and vulnerability through the constructed space.
 
Akin to roots from a tree, or veins in the human body, Julie often works with the hidden black pipes that carry a city’s electricity,  which she cuts into and encloses her images. The energy is reinstated and then amplified by the addition of changing coloured lights. Now the pipes that  carry electricity are carrying the artists energy.
 
Julie is self taught and works with a wide variety of mediums she gained a Distinction from Kensington & Chelsea College and also won ‘The Greatest Distance Travelled’ Award for her Artistic endeavors.
 
Julie Bloom Art Web Site

Leave comments with messages of support

An unusual story

  • 16/07/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

    So an Unusual story...which in this case doesn't start with a ONCE UPON A TIME.
    It starts.... with me being treated to a lovely cappachino with a friend swapping very interesting stories of our travels abroad & adventures under the gorgeous July London Sun.
    As I swooped the froth from the sides of my very bright green cup to catch the last of the froth with my teaspoon as elegantly as usual, I realised I had a little something foreign in my mouth, which I suspected & imagined was a little piece of coffee bean that had, in this case, snuck in my cup.
    How delighted was I, when extracting this foreign element carefully and quite artfully if I maight say so myself from the froth in my mouth, to find far from what I'd suspected...and Instead .... wait for it.... INFACT.... Plesae hazard a GUESS of what I found.. must add I've never had one in my mouth until today, tasted slightly bitter for anyone one of you that is curious, the little he or she was happily unharmed and made its way around the bright green saucer which maybe he mistook as a juicy green leaf and stayed with us, which made us a little trio for coffee under the warm now fading london summer sun.
    What a GLORIOUS Day to be ALIVE
    I wish you all Ladybirds and a Beautiful Day
    I wish you all Love

  • 16/07/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

Work has been an absolute joy....

  • 10/07/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

    Work has been an absolute joy this time of Lockdowns and Covid 19. The works have been random and different I’ve been led, primarily by my sense of timing in the second. Almost like driving in a strange unknown part of somewhere in step with the journey yet maybe a little lost though with enough petrol in the tank to feel confident that the travelling will end up in someplace that might well be very interesting and scenic as well as resonate in some meaningful way to the moment or indeed the past. Memories evoked, friends and times remembered, in the very same way that music can transport us, paint and materials have that way about them too. That real sense recently of just letting go then finds me later on as the work develops.
    I’m neither being judgmental of the new work, or too clingy as in I really feel the impulse to share it, sell it & strangely for me even explain it.
    I was an artist that really did not wish to have anything to do with the so-called
    Language of Art. I judged it as being pompous and too smart for it’s boots, and imagined a lot of posturing and hands sweeping back and fro, the obligatory hands touching chins with squinted eyes just mili seconds away from some grand understanding and awakening of what the art meant in real terms.
    The Language of Art for me is through the Heart and as we know this particular organ can have a different temperature at different times, as well as a fullness & emptiness …now I may be posturing, I’m not scared anymore to speak up on this topic as I’m speaking from my heart & the heart rarely lies.

  • 10/07/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 10/07/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 10/07/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 10/07/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 10/07/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 10/07/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 10/07/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 10/07/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 10/07/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

    BOYZ

  • 10/07/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

So there were moments today that just

So there were moments today that just, spelt, bliss, total unadulterated Bliss. The kind that only comes from a naturally full heart, and present mind, one that only comes to one whose willing to receive and can handle that kind of Mmmmmm, that kind of joy of the simplest and most ordinary variety, except today these things were even more exceptional than yesterday, it just keeps getting better. I’m one among many whose had their fair share of …lets say black & blues and have earnt through blood sweat and tears the right to finally come through to the other side, the light and bright side of the tracks where the colours are more vivid and deep and the call to join them so strong I can’t help but jump in, swallowing every second whole, taking and holding then letting go with a long satisfied sigh, I’ve got to say that this kind of ecstasy comes as a surprise.


I’m as clear & clean as can be yet so high … on…Life, Being Here, For you for me for us, just wanted to tell you, it’s a lot to keep to myself, I’m full to overflowing, I’ve got plenty, needed to tell you, I’m here and I’m Loving it!!!

On the Streets

  • 11/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

    On the way home, having waited till the heavy down pour yesterday had ended, stepping on to the wet pavements, smelling the freshness and wet in the air, noticing the colours, thrown by the shade of the previous rain. I couldn’t help but want to take it all in. The very breath, the very precious second that times sixty make a very valuable minute.
    Secret codes aren't just the preserve of spies. There are mysterious symbols, numbers and dials all around us, which mean, or have meant, something to someone at some stage. From 19th century insurance policies to markings for homeless people, covert communication between Londoners past and present are etched all around us.
    We set about uncovering the mysteries behind some of these often familiar, but seldom deciphered, hidden codes.

    Mystery right under our feet

    What are these mysterious pavement markings? When you're next strolling around town, keep your eyes peeled for these curious symbols carved into Victorian paving stones, from carefully crafted Maltese crosses to shoddily carved-out letters. Once you’ve noticed one, you’ll start to see them everywhere.
    It appears that, despite their prevalence, no one has satisfactorily uncovered the mystery of what these symbols actually represent. We've had our fair share of speculation, of course, from conspiratorial conjecture that they directed Freemason initiates to hidden lodges, to more mundane theories that they literally just identify the location of electricity, gas and water.
    The mystery continues.
    Well, It was great to look up Secret Codes on London streets, and these are some of the things I learnt.
    For instance the other day I saw some red chalk markings on the street just beside homeless artist I know, who sat with his beloved dog a meter away. Innocent and not in the know until now… asked him was that some of his work, no he replied.
    It’s taken about a week and a half to organically and just through being curious to find that in London more than 50 different utility companies dig up the streets, so it is important to have a universal coding system to indicate what’s hidden underground.
    Every color has a meaning.
    Red points to electrical lines.
    Blue Indicates water pipes.
    Yellow means gas.
    Green is cctv networks and cable tv lines and white is just general communication from measurements to instructions.
    So it pays off to take the time, to really drench and soak oneself into the second… times sixty that will make up a moment as they ripple so beautifully into discovering and appreciating our surroundings and what we might otherwise completely overlook

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020


From A to B

  • 11/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

    From A to B

    Was Drawn to the Red & the Beautiful Cracked Glass, for a second I thought about taking some for a piece I'm working on, yet no, the violence that had ensued on both these telephone boxes was a piece of work in themselves, as were the perpertraitors themselves.

    So I just captured the moment then continued on my way. It was one of the strongest images of today I must say.

    So now to pray...

    And then to Dream...

    Sweet Dreams Y'all

  • 11/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 11/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 11/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 11/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 11/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 11/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 11/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 11/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 11/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 11/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 11/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020


I took a walk

  • 10/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 10/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 10/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 10/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 10/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 10/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 10/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 10/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 10/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 10/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020


    TOOK A WALK


    Took a walk by the Thames and these were the views I decided to capture.
    The hammering, cluncking and clinking from the new builds, surprised me for a second, yup they were working, saw the cranes as they moved to & fro.
    It was all happening the other side of the river, yet another one thing to be grateful for.
    I thought about the people who lived close by to the construction sites and wondered how long might it be before they’d be free to hear birds instead of these sounds.
    I’m looking over to my window and the lovely tree outside as well as the lovely plants that are thriving at this time with their new lilacs and purple blooms. I hear some people’s voices, then absolutely nothing coming from my evenings open window other than every now and again a car, a bus or a bike, a bell tinkling from a doggies neck as he is out on his nights walk with his human friend, other than that, it’s quiet so quiet. Bed beckons, Today has been another very wonderful day.


The Joys

  • 08/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

    THE JOYS


    The Joys of Creating
    The joys of working within beautiful surroundings
    The Joy of being given a space to paint in
    The Joys of virtual strangers generosity
    The Joys of being close to my beloved parents ashes
    The Joy of seeing the Beautiful Blooms that now cover them
    The Joy that I can go and sit be still & enjoy them whenever I like
    The Joy of having strangers become friends through love of my work
    The Joy of creating something that can be shared with others
    The Joy of seeing how they connect with the work
    The Joy of hearing how they connect what it reminds them of
    The Joy of Being touched by Such Loving Souls
    The joys & appreciation I feel as we share parts of our lives
    The Joys of deriving pleasures from the smallest of things
    The Joys of a smile on my lips, from the smallest to the largest
    The Joys of Laughter bubbling in my throat and heard out loud
    The Joys & gratitude’s are so many, to so many
    Some know, some don’t
    So many different guises

    The Joys

  • 08/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 08/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 08/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 08/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 08/06/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

Clear Blue

A short Video and Words


This piece of art reminds me of beautiful carp swimming in clear blue waters. This is one of two paintings that will appear on my website soon. www.juliebloomart.com Instagram juliebloomart


Going up

A short Video and Words


So ... Needing Visability as an Artist, especially in these times of Covid 19. I thought making some films and documenting my work around London as I am unable at present to exhibit in a gallery was the next best thing :)


Coronavirus

Lockdown Exhibition Day 2

  • 30/05/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 30/05/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 30/05/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 30/05/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 30/05/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 30/05/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 30/05/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

Coronavirus

The Show has to be Paused

  • 02/06/2020

    The Show has to be Paused

    © Julie Bloom 2020

Lockdown 2020

My Exhibition

So ... Needing Visability as an Artist, especially in these times of Covid 19. I thought making some films and documenting my work around London as I am unable at present to exhibit in a gallery was the next best thing :)


Coronavirus

Lockdown Exhibition

  • 26/05/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 26/05/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 26/05/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 26/05/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 26/05/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 26/05/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 26/05/2020

    My lockdown exhibition on the Tate

    © Julie Bloom 2020

 If it weren’t for Covid 19

A short Video and Words

If it weren’t for Covid 19, I wouldn’t have thought of improvising in the following way. However, due to the virus and safety measures of lock down, it seems like the perfect solution. Solving at the same time the capacity to host a virtual and intimate Private view of my works via Zoom in a teeny tiny flat.

So actually this may work out perfectly for everyone concerned. As attendees needn’t travel, my flat won’t be overcrowded, there is absolutely no dress code, so as far as I’m concerned anything other than a birthday suit will suffice. You come and you go when you want without need of explanation. If you have a question or query about a piece of work, there will be a button called participants and all you have to do is raise your hand, or just shoot me an email.
      
If you are interested in attending any of the events I am hosting please either comment here or better still rsvp to:


I’ll reply and let you know dates.

I’ll send you the ID and password for the evening.

Given the studio I rent isn’t accessible at the moment due to safety measures I have been painting from home of course, my flat houses even more works than usual leaving very little wall space without some kind of work on it, so why not show, you are cordially invited.
 
 

I’ll maybe spend a frown or two today

I’ll maybe spend a frown or two today, I’ll perhaps give my number eleven’s a work out, for those not in the know or too young to care,
they are the parallel lines between your brows that grow when you’ve aged significantly enough to have found reality as its served to you less than acceptable and resisted this fact. This could come in the form of physical pain which I’ve been experiencing, could be sorrow, might be difficulties with others, might be worrying outcomes, frustration or exertion, the list is endless.

Bryon Katie, wrote a wonderful book, entitled ‘Loving What Is’, some years ago I was lucky enough to enjoy a workshop given by a lovely gentleman named Sean DeWarren who taught us how to facilitate the 4 Questions that Bryron outlined, they give a very fresh and interesting clarity and perspective to life if practiced.

Today I’m quite prepared and excited to have my face move into a 1000 different shapes as I willingly open my arms to the feelings that arise and the beautiful day that has already begun and unfolds.

I’ll be sure to exercise my laughter lines, for I am a comical creature who has learnt the art of taking herself less seriously and enjoys making fun of herself.

I wish ya’ll a great day,

Enjoy your Beautiful Faces today as well as each others, they all have a wonderful story to tell J

 

By The Fullness of the Moon

A Short Video

Coronavirus

Words & Images Day 15

  • 09/05/2020

    Dali Puss & I

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 09/05/2020

    pus & marilyn Masked

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 09/05/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 09/05/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 09/05/2020

    Dreaming

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 09/05/2020

    Got Painting got synced

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 09/05/2020

    I'm Here

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 09/05/2020

    Marilyn comes along

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 09/05/2020

    I see a 19

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 09/05/2020

    on a warm summers day

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 01/05/2020

    Gifted a onesi today

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 09/05/2020

    Full Moon

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 09/05/2020

    Busted

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 09/05/2020

    These times

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 01/05/2020

    Welcome rest

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 01/05/2020

    Love that would remain

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 01/05/2020

    In these times

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 01/05/2020

    The story continues

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 01/05/2020

    Introducing baby mouse

    © Julie Bloom 2020

Rememberances

Words & Images Day 14

  • Elementum ornare sapien

    09/05/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

    The rough the smooth, the deep and shallow, the sharp the soft, the light and dark. The jagged and rounded edges of me are the ones that I find when I’m found.
    The hard to soft, strong and weaker parts, all get noticed and acknowledged, a little more in lockdown, especially when I am in the awakened state of grace and acceptance.
    I’m grateful to add that today, I’m embracing all my colours. The truest of me, the authentic human I.
    Who has lived through so many lives in as many guises, hidden sometimes from you and more saddening than that from myself lest, I shine, too bright.
    As a child I moved around a lot, yeah that was me,
    ‘the new girl’ at school.
    It seemed that the creative, adventurous, intelligent me was overlooked, the brave, friendly pretty me got reduced just to, in short, ‘the new girl’.
    It was a very small box to fit in to, I guess that’s why I began to play small until … I literally couldn’t.
    To contort and fit to another’s narrow perception and limited and bigoted thinking, missing out on the bigger picture, and disassociating and separating myself from their fear and in turn creating my own until of course…
    I literally couldn’t.
    Bullies miss & mistake the rules of engagement somehow, without finesse and sense of mastery they actually can’t help it.
    Ever so recently I heard in their too loud whispers, just like in the schoolyard “oh look at her, she really loves herself! “ excuse me isn’t that actually the goal?
    Well slap the handcuffs on, arrest me, take my picture and detest me, you’ll never care as much as I’ve done when I’ve bought into the ultimate lie and lazy deception … I’m not enough or for that matter I’m too much. Lest my colours again shine to brightly for you I’ll minimize.
    Come on though that crazy poison can slip down as smooth as belladonna at some stage one has to come up for air and- Wake Up,
    What an actual gift to re-engage, re-evaluate and remember how capable, talented and how gracious in that acknowledgement we ALL have a right to be.
    Thank you, just for today I’m gonna own it, loud and proud, I hope you do too just like the persecuted peoples through out history, and war torn years who fought brave battles and soldiered on.
    My darling Austrian mama Ilse, as a young girl was put on the kinder transport by her parents in Vienna.
    The train brought my mother as well as many other young children to England to escape the Nazi’s. Unfortunately she was never to see her parents again as they did not manage to get out in time and were taken instead with many others by the Nazi’s to an extermination camp which took days to get to all huddled in appalling conditions no water… (We’ve seen the documentary’s) so actually I won’t continue… my grandparents have rested in peace for many years, and maybe now even my mother has met them, and maybe my dad has re-met her, and his sister and his parents, up in the heavens or the place we go to after a life here… I know how I love.
    If no one has told you they love you today, I’m telling you now… as you will tell your loved ones both here and Above 

    Julie Bloom
    May 8th 2020
    VE DAY


  • Grandparents

    09/05/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • VE DAY 2020

    09/05/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

The Flower and the Butterfly

A Short Video

The Flower and the Butterfly

Words & Images Day 13

  • 01/05/2020

    Had yesterday been the a normal day

    © Julie Bloom 2020

    Had yesterday, been a normal so-called day, minus the lockdown, do I think I would have woken and thought, Right, today, I’m going to take matters into my own hands and teach myself how to make a little movie from the stills that I drew in the 90’s. I’d written and Illustrated the story when bed bound for a period having been rear ended by a less than competent driver and injuring my back, this was my form of escapism, vicariously living through the flower & butterfly. I was in love too at the time and well it’s romantic in a lovely innocent way.
    My darling Mama loved the story and the little less than perfect drawings just the way they were and made me promise that one day I would do something with it.
    I have had many visitors to my home since lockdown they have all come via zoom or skype. I thought why not share this story the same way and host some free one hour events for children with accompanying adults in order they can be entertained and enjoy abit of escapism as I did by watching the short animation asking questions afterwards if they like and drawing their own version of the Flower & Butterfly during this time in lock down and following weeks. If this is something that interests you please contact info@juliebloomart.co.uk

  • 01/05/2020

    Flower & The Butterfly

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 01/05/2020

    The Flower and the Butterfly

    © Julie Bloom 2020

    He saw a flash before his eyes
    a coloured dream was her disguise
    and danced about him dervish style
    he asked if she would stay awhile

    I feel I know you she replied
    both joy and sadness in her eyes
    and as she spoke he knew it too
    his destiny so strong and true

    My life is short – I’m a Butterfly
    she whispered to him with a sigh
    I’d gladly give my life he replied
    To fly beside you in the changing skies

    This is how the adventure began
    with a meeting of hearts
    under a warm summer sun
    they began their ascents
    as he said his goodbyes
    to the flowers and bees
    who were more than surprised

  • 01/05/2020

    he saw a flash

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 01/05/2020

    I feel I know you

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 01/05/2020

    I'm a Butterfly

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 01/05/2020

    I'm a Flower & a friend to bee's

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 01/05/2020

    Together they danced

    © Julie Bloom 2020

    Together they danced
    together they sung
    together they spoke
    laughed and had fun

    They rose together over the land
    over trees and houses sea and sand
    meadows and lakes myriad of colours and shapes
    every breath every sight a perfect keepsake

    The skies had now darkened
    as night replaced the day
    a thousand stars as bright as diamonds
    lit the travellers way

    Oh how wondrous sung the Flower
    and how lucky I have been
    to meet you and have my life enriched
    by the beauty I have seen

  • 01/05/2020

    this is how the adventure beganjpeg

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 01/05/2020

    on a warm summers day

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 01/05/2020

    Played & had fun

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 01/05/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

    To you exclaimed the Butterfly
    thank you for the delight
    for sharing this wonderful day with me
    and including me in your life

    What a gorgeous adventure
    what surprises there have been
    now the beautiful moon beckoned a welcome rest
    and perhaps a place to dream


    For the Flower and the Butterfly
    had found in just one day
    the meaning of life
    the living of truth
    and a friendship and love that would stay

    Written and illustrated by
    Julie Bloom

  • 01/05/2020

    having you in my life

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 01/05/2020

    A thousand stars

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 01/05/2020

    Welcome rest

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 01/05/2020

    Love that would remain

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 01/05/2020

    In these times

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 01/05/2020

    The story continues

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 01/05/2020

    Introducing baby mouse

    © Julie Bloom 2020

Beloved Treads

A short Video

Coronavirus
Words & Images Day 12

  • 28/04/2020

    Treads

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 28/04/2020

    More Treads

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 28/04/2020

    & More Treads

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 28/04/2020

    &Even More

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 28/04/2020

    Installation

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 28/04/2020

    Tire donoting Speed

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 28/04/2020

    Speed of the City

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 28/04/2020

    Exhaust Fumes on the Road

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 28/04/2020

    Detail

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 28/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 28/04/2020

    In Show

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 28/04/2020

    Tuscanny

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 28/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 28/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 28/04/2020

    How things have changed…

    © Julie Bloom 2020


    Certainly on the roads of our London since the Pandemic arrived to our English shores.

    Where as, when I was working on these pieces shown in studio, ninety percent of the project came from
    the street and actually later, when having made it’s point, was returned.
    The tyre I found and happily rolled into my workspace, ended up encompassing my neon lit city.
    The thick pieces of glass gathered up from a street kerb, being remains of a car accident, got dug into the
    rubber to describe the sharpness and yet fragility of the tyre as well as the cost to bone and life … after all
    there isn’t much in our exsistance that isn’t fallible, or so it seems.
    Due to my own flat tyre last week, I got to enjoy these beautifully varied treads.
    Black smooth, corrugated, ridged rubber, has been something I’ve enjoyed for ever, and get a kick out of.
    Taking it on, like a welcomed muse it in all its creation.
    Slate, lino, coke cans turned inside out and constateenered, to describe me, from my inside’s out, to find some meaning and way of telling a story. I didn’t perhaps have a clear understanding of how it began or finished
    and similarly I’ve always found little resolution when attempting to figure out beginnings and endings, as the spaces inbetween them seem to matter so much more.
    A beautiful nine foot metal sheeting very much worse for wear, light as well flexible enough to get up the stairs and round the corners to my studio, my ‘piece deristance ‘at the time. Perfectly, effortlessly falling into place as my canvas to build my interpretation of a busy metropolis suffering toxins, speed, tarmac that seemed barely to sleep for it’s fever.
    Wire, hot glue gun to bond rubber, the only component that wasn’t recycled from the street, which I used
    previously to design and make a silver and rubber jewelery collection, the photo included is another one
    of my muses wearing it.

    So come to today, how things have changed.
    Our World, Cities, towns, villages, Ghosted for now… Pollution cut. Our skies breathe.
    When I worked on this project I had come from spending time in India. Barefoot and warm, luxuriating
    in the wealth of greenest nature and blue depths of sea. Everything slowed and the smile on my lips came as
    easily as the waves from the friendly locals as we passed each other by.
    You know to finish, cos there has gotta be some kind of end… Is… that Yes, it’s nice to be doing this diary, it’s preety nice cool to have been asked and included. Have opportunity to immerse myself in a little self appreciation which
    isn’t something I always do. Joking and laughing, getting upset and near crying, I want to send love to those
    who are dying and those who are left grieving for they are creating the ultimate Art.

Interview with Julie Bloom

19th April, 2020

Q. What has changed for you in the last week?
Nothing much in the last week yet everything since I understood we had a pandemic on our hands and needed to take real care of ourselves by self isolating, safe distancing and staying at home bar for provisions and exercise. In this process and sentiment of ‘We’re all in it together’, where lives are actually at stake, I ceased to take things for granted and committed to filling my days with as much creativity, kindness, joy and spontaneity as I could. 

Q. What are you thinking about doing next?
The next right thing

Q. Do you relish doing things that you have never done before?
Yes absolutely and thanks to Covid 19 my bucket list is being ticked as we speak. There is a delicious excitement that’s come as a direct result of lockdown and this virus that seems to keep things in the moment, has decreased my fear and fulfilled me. It’s shown me mindful and steady makes me ready, so yes I’m very excited.

Q. Do you prefer to take on large or small projects?
If it is a Commissioned piece I’m happy to take on either. 
If it’s a project like the one I am working on now, each component, which could be seen as small, as in painting, word, photograph, installation, video and sound they will all be pieced together to express me and make much larger project. 

I am very interested in diversity and I love being eclectic. Boredom is a killer.

Q. How do you feel when you see all the negativity about Covid 19?
Powerless. I just stay away from the negativity and do my best to make a difference in as peaceful a way as possible. 

Q. How do I feel about being told to stay home.
Completely fine. It’s for the greater good and what could be a finer reason.

Q. How do you feel about the Goverments narrative on Covid 19 ?
So I could, spend time, reading  the Government’s narrative, and this one and that ones opinion on how things are going to change and I’m sure it might be interesting for a while, though I suspect forecasts would be for worst outcomes. I feel happier having a good day, everyday, ‘on purpose’, and thanking God each night for everything good in my life, of which, you are included, I feel very blessed and grateful. 

Coronavirus
Words & Images Day 11

  • 19/04/2020

    When Two Sets of Green Eyes Keep Company

    © Julie Bloom 2020

    When Two Sets of Green Eyes Keep Company

    Sun was hot, having already prayed, bathed, & dressed
    as if I had a hot date to meet, I forgo the fantasy,
    kicked off my heels, slipped on trainers, combat jeans,
    t-shirt & shades, and armed with water, masks and several
    pairs of gloves said goodbye to my sun drenched flat
    for the great out doors.
    I needed to shake off the feeling of wanting to have my
    two close male friends feel better, as each had retreated respectively to their man caves, and had battened down
    the hatches. My inner tomboy wanted to fix, & the me
    from Venus just wished they’d share what was upsetting
    them and so sooth their woes. Forgetting somewhere I’d
    heard, that Men are from Mars. Whether in fact they are
    or not, neither instinct was a good match for either them
    or myself and in the decision to let go… It was then that I bumped into Penelope and ended up having the most
    wonderfully, spontaneous and synchronized day with her.

    Synonyms for Synchronize

    adjust harmonise intergrate
    mesh agree match organanize pool
    proportion set atune keep time with
    pull together put in sync

    Set an Intention, see it come to Fruition, Effortlessly 

  • 19/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 19/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 19/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 19/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 19/04/2020

    Nike

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 19/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 19/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 19/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 19/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 19/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

Coronavirus
Words & Images Day 10

  • 18/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

    That’s me, Speedy Gonzalez. I’m just like that now. Super happy,
    fulfilled, crazy to learn, be kind, mindful, dance, exchange jokes. Contact
    and speak to friends I’d mislaid along the way and found as many as
    32 years later in four different time zones just the same as if time had
    stood still.
    Photographing, videoing, editing, writing prose, and speaking in
    foreign accents and where I’m able in different languages. Having found
    my stride, cupboards are emptied and reorganized, my sink and
    draining board are positively glistening. Having given away my ironing
    board many light years ago and having painted a t-shirt that needed to
    be heat sealed, I found the brand new never used little iron I was
    planning on selling, and yes…. I used it. Amazing ! There’s definitely
    something to be said for ironing out the creases… all across the board
    right?
    Doing stand up, to an audience of one and laughing so hard it seemed
    some deranged maniac had enveloped me and I loved it. The lunatic on
    the hill came to mind, tears rolling down my face, shared my little blue
    mask video sketch to several men friends that were ‘”You sure iz ugly”
    refer Colour Purple, which as I was wearing the mask I found very
    telling and refreshing at the same time and had me laughing all over
    again.
    Getting tearily choked up when watching news at ten, the ever
    Increasing fatalities, many people suffering, including our
    worlds amazing doctors and essential workers, innocent little ones,
    everyone. This mouse gets mad when I see people who are ignoring the
    safe distance request and potentially putting others in danger.
    My side of the street joining forces with the Brazilian beauties on
    youtube to do power plate workouts.
    Fasting, eating great food, enjoying sumptuous hot epsom-salt baths by
    candle light, something I hadn’t made time for in years.
    Connecting to zoom meetings where up to 700 people
    come from every corner of the globe to be there for one another.
    I’m in a very fortunate position to feel what is being asked of us, is
    actually such a personal gift and one I can pass on and pay forward, I
    want to be the best version of Speedy I can be.
    Full to Bursting, no time to tell you all the other things I’m getting up to, let me hear from you.
    Ariba Ariba Ariba Andalay
    Love Speedy

  • 18/04/2020

    Mask Made For Project

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 18/04/2020

    Profile

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 18/04/2020

    Dismantled my NutriBullet

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 18/04/2020

    Removeable table made for balcony

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 18/04/2020

    Faulty latch locks me out

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 18/04/2020

    Nike

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 18/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 18/04/2020

    Pavement Texts

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 18/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 18/04/2020

    Today Acrylic on Paper

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 18/04/2020

    Love Sand & Paper

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 18/04/2020

    All We Can

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 18/04/2020

    Time To Soak

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 18/04/2020

    Love You All

    © Julie Bloom 2020

Coronavirus
Words & Images Day 9

  • 17/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 17/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 17/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 17/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 17/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 17/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 17/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 17/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 17/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 17/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 17/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 17/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 17/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 17/04/2020


    Did I notice being led
    to that place of Ready ?
    that place of Acceptance?
    Seeing the preparation in hindsight
    grateful that the pain & joy was a right of
    passage, a pathway that only brought a needed
    understanding?
    Did I notice the day’s shades change?
    The sun rising, lowering and once again setting,
    and the shadows that appeared in the process like a
    like a silent visitor to my room, reminding me,
    I need never feel alone.

    © Julie Bloom 2020

Coronavirus
Words & Images Day 8

  • 16/04/2020

    Found These Words

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 16/04/2020

    On a doorway

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 16/04/2020

    Shapes & Reflections

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 16/04/2020

    Signs Bursting Forth

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 16/04/2020

    Like A Premonition

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 16/04/2020

    Words Resonating

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 16/04/2020

    Around Our World

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 16/04/2020

    No Country Excluded

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 16/04/2020

    Eruptions

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 16/04/2020

    Be Safe

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 16/04/2020

    The Doors

    © Julie Bloom 2020

Day 7 Video

Finding Space is a video performance I made using art work from my Cityscapes Collection. I wanted to perform & feel for myself how I could navigate, how my senses reacted within my black & white piece. 

To Explore notions of identity, boundaries and displacement, speed, scale and noise as I moved with my strengths and vunerability through the constructed space. 

I find nature far easier to navigate within, it's softer and less demanding it's beautiful and holds me in such a nuturing way and where I feel most held I guess though nature has its demands also and will have its say in no uncertain terms,one has to bend and adapt with both. Seems relevant to our present situation of Covid 19 today.

Coronavirus
Words & Images Day 7

  • 15/04/2020

    The City

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/04/2020

    In All Its Glory

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/04/2020

    Shapes & Reflections

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/04/2020

    Lines of which I'm so Fond

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 15/04/2020

    Silver & Coin

    © Julie Bloom 2020

Coronavirus
Words & Images Day 6

  • 11/04/2020

    hmmmm

    © Julie Bloom 2020

    Having stayed within a stones throw of my home for more than five weeks I felt Good Friday deserved an hour of real Green.

    What a joy… to venture out, to breathe in the sights, slow down, to appreciate the beauty of the park and gorgeous change of scene.

    To take time, to notice how my feelings changed, how my heart skipped a beat with each wonderful new surprise and landscape. Evoking and stirring memories unrelated physically, yet connecting me effortlessly to different treasured keepsakes from my childhood, my parents, a romance, a beautiful love affair, a pebbled beach in Greece that could only be reached by scaling down a precipitous cliff with freshly made sandwiches and other tasty delights to eat and drink with Alexi.

    Strolling on with an hmmmm and sigh on my lips I follow the bend of the path to witness the care of an expectant father as he selectively pecked reeds from the water to add to the already impressive throne he’d made his significant other. Her appreciation of his care as she relaxed and warmed the two large trusting eggs beneath her soft white belly. They were clearly in love, taking everything in their stride, mindfully alert and relaxed at the same time. One can learn a lot from Swans and a lot from Covid 19.

  • 11/04/2020

    The 1st Treat

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 11/04/2020

    We each need to bend a little

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 11/04/2020

    We each are Mirroored

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 11/04/2020

    We each have a story

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 11/04/2020

    Prehistoric Memories

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 11/04/2020

    One Love

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 11/04/2020

    Till death do us part

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 11/04/2020

    Choosing reeds for nest

    © Julie Bloom 2020

Coronavirus
Words & Images Day 5

  • 09/04/2020

    Story of Pipes

    © Julie Bloom 2020

    From my window last week I noticed there was some work beginning, something small but significant.
    I have a lot of tolerance for the sound of pneumatic drills, after all, it’s what first drew my attention some years ago when much larger & extensive works were being carried out in my street.
    When I laid eyes on those black corrugated pipes, the length and boldness of them, it was Love at first sight.
    Curiosity and spontaneity had me immediately go down and enquire what were they used for, learning all about them from the wonderful & friendly workman. Fifteen minutes later I had acquired two of adequate and impressive length. I returned home elated as these would work perfectly with what I wanted to express in my first solo show which was entitled,
    “Cityscapes, Above, Below and Everything In-between”.
    My relationship with the pipes that carry our electricity started off with just two, as is my nature I ended up with a lot more. I have used them for installations and am currently working with them in lighting, sculpture, belts & jewelry.
    Ps…Anyone who has an inclination in the future, who’d like a very unique partition made from them, please contact me, it’s a project I’d very much like to undertake when the dust settles, my home is lovely
    but just too small.

  • 09/04/2020

    Street Light

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 09/04/2020

    Progressing

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 09/04/2020

    Including these guys in Thursday's clapping

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 09/04/2020

    Pipes Sourced

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • Diary Day 5
  • 09/04/2020

    Oh Yeah

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 09/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

Coronavirus
Words & Images Day 4

  • 05/04/2020

    Grateful for my Balcony

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 05/04/2020

    Beach on my Balcony

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 05/04/2020

    Buterfly City

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 05/04/2020

    Sea Swept

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 05/04/2020

    Contribute

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 05/04/2020

    Vitamin D

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 05/04/2020

    Mirrored

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 05/04/2020

    Day of Rest

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 05/04/2020

    We're in it Together

    I feel excited, exhilarated, infused, and empathetic. Enjoying change, yes change, rising to the challenge of it. Vibrating literally on called for higher frequencies to meet the day, head on.
    To be extra mindful. I have time and certainly the incentive now to be so.
    To take this opportunity by the bit, to take extra care of myself in order to take better care of you. After all, we are finally in it together right?
    With all of me, the good bad and the ugly, the order of my day seeks to savor and relish this challenge of lockdown and without protest and in the process I’ve noticed certain unwelcome character traits dissipate, fall away as more interesting pursuits, thoughts, feelings and desires take president. I have to admit that right now… I am Happy… having decided to “Have a Good Day on Purpose…my new very favorite of sayings.
    I’m sending well wishes to those of you who are feeling unwell. Condolences to those of you grieving for loved ones who have passed or passing now, out of reach of your hand to hold. Love to those who are feeling blue and frightened and those that aren’t any of the above and are here in this space…I’m sending Virtual Hugs, I hope you feel it 

    © Julie Bloom 2020

Coronavirus
Words & Images Day 3

  • 04/04/2020

    Add love to your life

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 04/04/2020

    Blue Skies & Blossom

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 04/04/2020

    Dad's Birthday today

  • 04/04/2020

    Dad

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 04/04/2020

    Artists Smock & Blackboard

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 04/04/2020

    Special Day with Dad

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 04/04/2020

    A little of dad is there

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 04/04/2020

    So proud of my dad

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 04/04/2020

    Mum

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 04/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

    Today I woke to say Happy Birthday to my Darling Dad
    Today also marked his funeral day 4 years ago…
    My dad would have turned 87 on the day he was cremated
    instead at the wake, I had balloons & a 1 year candle on a large chocolate
    cake for his very 1st Birthday in Heaven.
    I miss both my mum & dad not being here, I am though pleased that
    they are safe. Today was a big day for me, bigger than I thought. I often do this
    strong positive thing, life calls for it sometimes…
    late last night I found a little slide show of my family of 3 I also
    found myself crying my heart out as I watched us. I didn’t expect it,
    I was though happy for it, I have amazing parents and I’m very loved in return.

Coronavirus
Images Day 2

  • 03/04/2020

    NHS

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 03/04/2020

    NHS..

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 03/04/2020

    NHS....

  • 03/04/2020

    NHS Blue

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 03/04/2020

    Bar for the grace

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 03/04/2020

    Day 2 work in progress

    © Julie Bloom 2020

Coronavirus
Images Day 1

  • 02/04/2020

    Rough with the Smooth

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 02/04/2020

    Into the City

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 03/04/2020

    Reflection

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 02/04/2020

    Work in Progress

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 02/04/2020

    Here we go again

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 02/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 02/04/2020

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 02/04/2020

    It's an Earth Thing

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 02/04/2020

    Lockdown

    © Julie Bloom 2020

  • 03/04/2020

    Marilyn's Walk

 Help researchers help you!


AMO Download
Take part in this novel research to make a change

  • Share your opinion as your voice matters
  • Help us understand everyone’s experience
  • No bias, just science 
  • Help us improve future responses
 

AMO sends your votes securely via standard SMS, these are usually included free in UK airtime bundles. Ask your mobile supplier if you get inclusive SMS to standard UK mobiles.
Page 15 of 25